The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Miss State nominees for McWhorter Award announced

180 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Jacob Billingsley of the Mississippi State baseball team and Mallory Eubanks of the Bulldog soccer team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by Mississippi State University.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2018 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 26.

Highlights of Mississippi State's nominees include:

JACOB BILLINGSLEY, Baseball, Mississippi State
Major: Kinesiology and Human Development & Family

Graduated from MSU in May 2017 with a Bachelor's of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies (posted a 3.26 GPA) Is currently working on a second Bachelor's degree in Human Development & Family Science (with a 3.23 GPA) Student Athlete Advisory Committee member Three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll Named to the President's List and recipient of Top Dawg honors in the spring of 2017 with a 4.0 GPA Has made 37 career appearances on the mound, with 22 of those as a starter During his junior and senior seasons, served as the primary Sunday starter for State and has recorded two wins in each of those seasons Compiled 52.2 innings pitched during his junior year in 2017 and has 102.1 career innings pitched Along with 103 career strikeouts, has tallied four wins and one save over the course of his career as a Diamond Dawg Helped MSU to the 2016 SEC Regular Season Championship and back-to-back Super Regional appearances, 2016 & 2017 Best outing of career came in elimination game at 2017 NCAA Hattiesburg Regional as he allowed just one run and struck out five in a complete-game effort Recipient of the George Lane Sportsmanship Award in the 2017 Cape Cod League Earned second-team All-Florida League honors in the 2016 Florida Collegiate League

MALLORY EUBANKS, Soccer, Mississippi State
Major: Kinesiology

Posted 3.91 cumulative GPA while earning her degree in kinesiology with an emphasis on clinical exercise physiology Became the program's first-ever SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year as a senior in 2017 Four-time SEC Academic Honor Roll Became the highest Bulldog ever selected in the National Women's Soccer League Draft in 2018, going 16th overall to the Washington Spirit Two-time Second Team All-SEC selection Selected to the 2015 SEC Community Service Team United Soccer Coaches Second-Team All-Southeast Region selection in 2017 Finished second in program history in career assists (17) and fourth in shots attempted (134) and led MSU in assists all four years Tallied a career-best 6 assists as a senior, leading the Bulldogs in that category As a sophomore, was named Offensive MVP by her teammates Played for the U-19 U.S. Women's National Team in New Zealand in summer 2016, while competing for the U-23 team in spring 2017 against some of the best in the NWSL Named to the SEC All-Freshman team in 2014

Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC official sponsor, provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla., in early June.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were University of Alabama swimmer Anton McKee and Texas A&M University swimmer Sarah Gibson.